Landmarks and Milestones

1771 – the first record of cricket in Wales with a letter published in a newspaper complaining about the noise made by people playing cricket in Swansea.

1783 – the first record of a match taking place (near Cwmgwili in Carmarthenshire).

1785 – first record of a cricket club being formed (in Swansea).

1864 – first “proper” county club being formed (Carmarthenshire).

1888 – Glamorgan CCC is formed.

1900 – Glamorgan become Minor County champions.

1921 – Glamorgan win their inaugural County Championship match, beating Sussex at Cardiff (as seen below with Norman Riches leading off his jubilant team.)

The delighted supporters mob the victorious Glamorgan team after their victory over Sussex in May 1921 at the Arms Park. Credit – Glamorgan Cricket Archives.

1923 – Glamorgan defeat a touring team for the first time (West Indians at Cardiff).

1930 – Maurice Turnbull becomes the first Welsh-born Test cricketer.

1948 – Glamorgan become county champions.

1948 – Allan Watkins becomes the first Glamorgan player to appear in The Ashes.

1951 – Glamorgan turn the tables on South Africa.

1968 – Glamorgan complete back-to-back victories over the Australians at Swansea (as seen below with acting captain Don Shepherd celebrating).

Don Shepherd (with stump) and Barry Jarman at Swansea in 1968 after the Welsh county’s famous win over the Australians. Credit – Glamorgan Cricket Archives.

1969 – Tony Lewis leads Glamorgan to another Championship title.

1973 – England play New Zealand in an ODI at Swansea.

1973 – Lynne Thomas scores a century for the England Ladies against Australia.

1973 – Gowerton play in a Lord’s final.

1977 – Glamorgan reach their first-ever one-day final at Lord’s, with (as seen below) the Daffodil Army attending the Gillette Cup game with Middlesex.

Glamorgan supporters, known as The Daffodil Army, at Lord’s in September 1977 for the Gillette Cup Final against Middlesex. Credit – Glamorgan Cricket Archives.

1979 – Ynysygerwn play in the Village Cup Final at Lord’s.

1979 – Wales play in the ICC World Cup.

1980 – Marchwiel are National village champions.

1981 and 1982 – St. Fagans win consecutive Village Cup finals

1993 – Glamorgan win the Sunday League title as they beat Kent at Canterbury after Tony Cottey (seen left with Viv Richards) hits the winning runs.

Tony Cottey and Viv Richards sprint off the pitch at Canterbury in 1993 after Glamorgan won the Sunday League by beating Kent. Credit – Glamorgan Cricket Archives.

1997 – Glamorgan are county champions for the third time.

1999 – The first ODI in Cardiff as New Zealand beat Australia.

2001 – Ynystawe are Village Champions!

2002 – The Glamorgan Dragons win the National League.

2004 – The Glamorgan Dragons once again win the National League and reach T20 Finals Day.

2004 – Sully Centurions win the village final at Lord’s.

2009 – Cardiff becomes the 100th Test Match venue as England meet Australia (seen below) in the Ashes.

Andrew Strauss and Alistair Cook walk out from the pavilion at Cardiff in July 2009 as Test Match cricket comes to Wales.
Credit – Glamorgan Cricket Archives.

2012 – Cardiff hosts Twenty20 Finals Day.

2013 – Glamorgan play in the YB40 Final at Lord’s.

2015 – England beat Australia in the Ashes Test at Cardiff.

2017 – Glamorgan play at T20 Finals Day at Edgbaston.

2019 – Sophia Gardens is a host venue for the ICC Cricket World Cup.

2020 – Cardiff is one of the host venues for The Hundred, with the Welsh Fire playing at Glamorgan’s headquarters.